Wednesday, March 25, 2026

Car History (3)


 I bought another Nissan Sentra. 

This one lasted me for years. I LOVED this car. Many good memories together. And tons of money spent in repairs (but mainly they were my fault)

I bought new tires every couple of months, the penalty for spinning donuts in parking lots and gravel roads. I felt like the Dukes of Hazzzard in this vehicle. Even found a spot of Red Cut Loop Rd that would send your car flying up in the air for a second if you hit it just right...and I did every time. 

At the time I was working for appraisers as a runner and one of the last ones I worked for lived on that road so I was going up and down it all the time. 

Oh man....good memories with this car. 

I bought brand new shocks, an alternator and just about every cable and belt you could name to replace it. When it finally came to replacing the engine I was all for it and the mechanic pulled me aside and said "Son, for the amount you're going to have to pay, you may as well just get a new car"

He was right. My heart dropped because I knew it was time to finally say goodbye. So I left it with him for a few hundred bucks and moved on. 

The worst thing is, a few weeks later I realized I'd left my BB gun in the care....lost forever! Major bummer. 

Tuesday, March 24, 2026

Car History (2)


 After my Dodge Spirit failed me, the father of a friend of mine hooked me up with someone who was selling their Nissan Sentra. It had 188K miles on it, so I got it for cheap. 

I loved this car. It had ZERO problems and was red. (my favorite color at the time) But someone hit me and totaled the car. I was crushed. 

Thankfully when speaking to their insurance company about a settlement check a lawyer told me to say these magic words "I need to consult with my lawyer first"

Instantly, that amount rose a couple thousand dollars more and I took the deal. I actually made money off the wreck. Getting way more in return than what I'd paid for it. It paved the way to get me my second vehicle. 

I was still in college at the time and I remember thinking "How many cars is it going to take before I graduate?"

The answer would be one more...

Monday, March 23, 2026

Car History (1)


 It's been a long road to get me to my Minivan Man path of destiny. So this week I thought I'd talk about the 5 other cars I've owned in my lifetime before the minivan. 

My very first car was a Dodge Spirit, sort of like this one. I remember it looker a lot cooler back in the day but oh well. 

It had a skylight and I thought that was cool so I bought it. 

It was a piece of junk. Once the repairs overtook the actually cost of what I'd paid for the vehicle I let it go. Didn't even last me throughout college! I remember naming it "Rogue Leader" a Star Wars reference. All my friends in college were naming their cars, so I decided to join in the fun. 

It was a piece of junk and I didn't miss getting rid of it. 

Friday, March 20, 2026

Leg Extension Machine


 By far, the most popular machine at my gym. 

I used to use this all the time but not anymore. Someone is on it from the time they open to the time they close guaranteed.

They used to have two but one broke months ago and they never fixed it so now there's just one and people will sit on it for 25 minutes before getting up and unless you're standing right next to it, you have no chance at getting a turn. 

I don't know what makes it so popular but every other machine is open at sometime BUT this one. Incredible. 

Have a good weekend folks! 

Thursday, March 19, 2026

Jolt (review)


 Finally got a chance to try this! After seeing it on Amazon I've always wanted to try them out but they're a little expensive. A month ago they dropped the price and I bought a 12 pack. 

I never knew what the original ones tasted like, but this is an average soda, though now it's been turned into an energy drink. You can't tell. It still taste like a soda. 

I'm glad I got to taste it though I won't be getting them again. Not special enough. Just average. 

Wednesday, March 18, 2026

Fear the Walking Dead Season 7 review


 Wow. 

Ok, a lot to unpack here.

First off, Alicia (the girl in the picture) finally stopped using the broken off nozzle of a machine gun as a weapon. After 4 season of trying to convince the audience how "cool" it was to carry one around. By far, the dumbest weapon ever used in the Walking Dead universe. But at least its gone. 

So are the cars. Of course... the nuked the entire area, so maybe that's why they stopped. AND for the first time ever people died when surround, falling into, or being piled upon, zombies. Incredible the writers finally figured out that people constantly escaping those situations make no sense in the long run.   

Electricity? Only one episode featured it and it was the dumbest ever. This guy has been living in his home (perfectly clean and untouched by zombies OR a nuclear BOMB and has lights on and everything. 

So I guess the zombies have never bothered him before? Or and the raiders who go around looting building also leave him alone. Even when they come to his door they politely knock and ask if he's seen Alicia....yet the RAID other buildings. Wouldn't they want a house that still has running water and electricity???? Why this house even exist at this point should've been a dream instead of a real thing. 

Completely stupid. 

Strand finally goes full villain in this season. Killing humans, running the building he's in as a tyrant. He's the other "big bad" in the season. Which I was fine with at first. He started off as a selfish character, only looking out for himself, finally turns full evil. Good idea.

Until they give him a "redemption" arc while at the last minute he switches sides and the whole gang forgives him instantly....even though they know how many humans he's killed. RIDICULOUS.

Meanwhile, Alicia saws off her arm right after a bite but later tells everyone she was too late and was infected....yet never dies. I think they're telling us she beat off the infection, when in reality she cut off her arm just in time to survive. Also, 3 seasons ago there was an episode showing where she was exposed to dangerous radiation that is supposed to kill her.....but I guess she's cured from that too? They never mention it anymore. Guess the writers forgot? Maybe they'll talk about it in the last season...or maybe they don't care about that old story line either.  

And in the last episode....Madison comes back. Turns out, she didn't die after all. (zero surprise)  but why hasn't she been looking for her kids? We're never given a reason, just that she thought they were dead....though she sacrificed herself to save them in season 4. 

Yeah....a mom would totally give up hope after that. 

In reality, they decided to bring her back in the final season I guess and since they couldn't think of a good reason why she didn't go searching for her kids they just skipped over that plot hole because, at this point, no one was watching the show anyway so who cares. 

Total crap. 

No wonder this show shed another 500,000 viewers in one season. What a mess!

If this show went 10 seasons, THIS is where I would've quit it again. However, there's only one more miserable season left, so I'm currently watching it and will hopefully have it done later this week and be through with this garbage once and for all. 

At least I can say I finished it. 

Tuesday, March 17, 2026

Happy St Patty's Day


 You know...maybe one day when the kids get older we'll start throwing parties at our house to make this holiday more fun. 

These days I don't do anything special on it. It's really just a "meh" holiday. Nothing fun to do. 

But have fun wearing green folks! That's about all this day is really known for now. 

Monday, March 16, 2026

Gumbo


 Another thing my grandmother always made was gumbo. She made the BEST gumbo I've ever had! Thankfully, I was able to get the recipe before she passed away and me and mom make it every once in a while. Taste just like hers too!

But at a restaurant? Awful. Every time. 

Why? They burn the rue. 

Can't burn the rue. Its essential to the taste. But EVERY place I've tried it at, does. 

I remember ordering it at a local place in town that serves excellent meals. But when I took one bite I spit it out immediately and asked the waitress for jambalaya instead. 

She must have told the chef what I did, because he came out shortly after and asked if there was something wrong with my gumbo. I felt like an asshole telling the truth so I just told him the gumbo wasn't for me and that I just wanted something else. 

But NO ONE made it better than my grandmother...though Mom's is very close.   

Friday, March 13, 2026

Hush Puppies


 My grandmother made the best ones I've ever had. But I've never been to a place I've ever enjoyed them before. Every seafood place I try, no matter how good, NEVER has good hush puppies. 

It could be that my grandmother made them a specific way and I'm used to them tasting like that. I'm aware it could be the case, but these days when I order a meal and it comes with the side, it's always the only thing left on my plate. 

And since my grandmother passed away years ago, I don't think I'll ever eat then again. 

Have a good weekend folks!

Thursday, March 12, 2026

Sardines


 They sound disgusting, the look disgusting but you know what? I've come to enjoy them a lot lately. 

I usually get the ones with hot sauce, but ever recently have been eating them out of the can with a little mustard too and it's been a good snack while I'm moving forward on my diet. 

They're very healthy for you too. And cheap! I used to eat them on my diet all the time back in the day but over the years have forgotten about them until last month, when I bought a few for snacks at work. 

Delicious. 

I even remember putting them in a sandwich after I got off the diet and enjoying them then too. Don't know if I'll try that again but its certainly a treat eating them now. 

If you haven't tried them before,  I recommend it. Really not that bad tasting at all!

Wednesday, March 11, 2026

Bye bye HeavyWeights


 This was the place I went every first Monday of the month to get the best deal in town on my Ghost Energy drinks. It was an awesome deal and they had a lot of good flavors. 

But over the past few months, it's gotten worse and worse. 

The first time was in the fall when he told me he couldn't afford to give such a big discount on the Ghost drinks anymore. Everything else was going to remain the same but the Ghost he had to sell a little higher. (due to popularity)

Then I noticed the selection of flavors disappear. The best sellers began being pulled from the sale first, then it started becoming the excess Ghost flavors they couldn't sell and those have now dwindled into some of my least favorite flavors. To top things off, he's only giving a $2 discount now on 12 packs. I don't even know why I even bought them this month. It was a terrible deal. Something the 76 gas station gives me every day for buying a 12 pack and they have the best selection of Ghosts drinks in town. 

I can't believe I went through with the purchase in the first place. 

No I'm stuck with 2 flavors I don't hate but certainly don't enjoy that much and he practically dropped unsellable stock on me for almost full price. 

Sucker. 

So now I've moved out to online sales and have found deals WAY better than what they were a year ago when I looked. I guess some of these places are realizing they can put the squeeze on the brick and mortar people a lot more if they'd only stop selling at full price. 

I've gotten specials from both Amazon and Walmart the were exactly the original sale HeavyWeight used to sell me the Ghosts drinks for. 

Needless to say, I'm a happy man now but will never be going back to this place ever again. 

And they better watch out, because once word spreads that these products are cheaper online, this store's days are numbered and I won't miss them at all after they close either. 

Tuesday, March 10, 2026

KFC


 The first time I ever went to one I was 24 years old. The last time I went was in 2010 when they created the double down. A chicken on chicken sandwich without a bun. 

This is another place I would never say "Let's go to.." but I wouldn't argue with anyone if they ever wanted to go....which no one has ever suggested to me ever. 

The one by our house is ALWAYS empty. I have no idea how they stay in business. Even the Church's Chicken up the road has steady business. 

There hasn't been a single menu item or deal in 15 years that's made me say "Oooh, I gotta try that!"

KFC is just "meh"

Monday, March 09, 2026

Piccadilly


 Why would anyone want to go here? We have one in Monroe but I'm not sure who still wants to go to this place. I admit, it's been about 15 years since I've set foot in one but I wasn't impressed. 

Home cooked food at high prices. I don't even remember it being that good. It reminds me of when we had a Grandy's back in the day. Until it closed. Then everyone was complaining about it being gone, but when it was opened I only remember there being an empty parking lot. 

Sure their breakfast was ok, but no one really misses Grandys. 

Would anyone miss this place if it were gone? 

I don't think so. 

Friday, March 06, 2026

Fear the Walking Dead Season 6 (review)


 What?!? Morgan didn't die in the last season??? Oh wait...everyone knew they wouldn't kill him off anyway. 

Well, well, well, here we are. One more season down and not much has changed. They blew up the gas refinery, so speed chases in cars and constant driving around for weeks in vehicles is coming to a stop. There was only one place that conveniently had electricity which went unexplained because the story needed them to live underground....but still be in a well lit room. And every 4 episodes it was guaranteed someone would fall inside a zombie hoard and make it out without a bite. 

So my main issues with the show are still there, though 2 of them appear to be dying off. But this season....dang. It got dark. 

A main character is killed in a shocking episode. I was confused as to why they'd kill off one of their best characters until I read the actor wanted out of the show. Figures, this was the last time they'd see 1 million viewers, so I guess he got out just in time. 

But that's not the worst of it. There's a scene where a mom ties up her mouth and ties herself to a railing so that when she turns she doesn't eat her baby that was traveling with her. (eww)

They even nuked the entire area with a missel at the end of the season. How's that for being poetic? Kinda like how they nuked this show years ago and couldn't find their way back into the good graces of the audience. 

But I think they knew that this season and went for broke when they aired the darkest episode I've ever seen on Walking Dead. 

In this episode the mom is told she will die during childbirth. As she's in labor she has a dream where she meets her daughter in the future when she's 16 and they fight off zombies. She sees into the future that her child will bring "peace" and lead a new generation in the zombie world. 

As she awakes in time to have the baby, she asks to see her.....but she's dead. 

Not the mom. The baby. As they carry it's limp lifeless corpse to the mother. 

Wow. That was dark. That they had the balls to show a dead baby too was shocking. No wonder they shed another 500,000 viewers from the next season. 

But bravo Fear....that shocking moment granted you another season of me watching. Who knows? I just may make it through this show after all? 

Have a good weekend folks!  

Thursday, March 05, 2026

Rental Family (review)


 Brendan Fraser knows how to pick his movies these days. This one is about a washed out actor who moved to Japan thinking it would improve his career. Year later he's not getting much work until he gets hired by an agency that pretends to be whatever their clients want for at the time. 

He's assigned many roles and through them makes friends he didn't think would happen. I think you may know how this ends and you'd be right, but it was still a fun movie and even made me laugh out loud once. 

I was always a fan of his in the 90s and am glad he's been making a comeback. Here's to seeing many more come from Mr Fraser in the future. 

Wednesday, March 04, 2026

Sushi

 

Megan loves it. But I'm so-so on it. 

I don't mind it. And if anyone ever asked if I wanted to go with them for sushi, I'd say "sure" but I'd never choose to go eat it on my own if that makes sense. 

I somewhat get why people enjoy it so much. It's not bad. Especially some of the sauces that comes with it. But in a laundry list of things I could eat, this may be dead last. 

Well....I'd probably pick this over Indian food but that's about it. Not really a big sushi fan. However, if you want to go sometime....I'm down. 

Tuesday, March 03, 2026

Eating alone


 Ugh, I can't stand seeing this. 

It's different if it's at lunch somewhere, I'm pretty sure that person is just taking a break from work. But at dinner? Alone? Can't stand seeing it. I want them to sit by me. 

Don't know why, but it bothers me a lot. Have I eaten dinner by myself? Sure. Several times. But it's just when I see others doing it, I can't help but feel bad for them. 

Maybe it's just me (I'm pretty sure it is) but I when I see someone eating out at night on their own I think they must not have many friends. 

One of the reasons I never at anywhere nice for dinner when I was traveling with the company alone. Would rather pick something up, go back to the hotel and read a book. 

But that's just me I guess. 

Monday, March 02, 2026

The Fasting Diet


 Trying a new diet this year. I fast for a few days, eat regular a day or two and then go back to fasting. 

I feel it's working, but most importantly I feel great!

I'm a little surprised I was able to slip into it so easily. But once I got it going, it really isn't that bad. Even at nights when I struggle the most, I just start cleaning around the house until I'm tired and need to lay down. I rest well too and my hunger pains are gone the next morning. 

It's a great feeling. Don't know how long I'll keep up up, but so far so good!

Friday, February 27, 2026

Best Maid Pickles


 They come in a plastic jar. The logo looks cheap....but they're the best pickles I've ever had. 

Shocked at how good they are. JUST like the ones you used to get at the ballpark when you were a kid. BIG fan of these. 

Don't know what they do to make them, but they're doing it the right way I can assure you. 

Anyway, just thought I'd give you a pickle recommendation in case you went out shopping this weekend. 

Have a good one folks!

Thursday, February 26, 2026

Fear the Walking Dead Season 5 (review)


 More gas than ever in this season. 

Though they always make sure to tell you, they're running low. Even had 2 scenes where people run out of gas....but they now run a gas refinery and can make their own. 

You know, because everyone knows how to make gas.

Plenty of electricity too. Maybe every store has a generator. My favorite place they visited this season was the mall. Lights on, full power....because you know if anyone is going to have power 5 years into a zombiegeddon it's the mall. 

And the zombies? Completely harmless as always. Guy was surrounded on his horse but not a single zombie bit him on the leg or foot. Amazing! You see, turns out they just wanted to eat the horse, so while he went down with the horse, he was able to crawl through the crowd of zombies unbitten. 

They also leave you on a cliffhanger making you think one of the cast died, because he's surrounded by Walkers, injured, laying on the ground. Any other show, he'd be dead but this show....there's no doubt in my mind he'll be fine. 

The regular crap I hate in the last season I watched.

However....

The characters are really good. They brought in Dwight from "Walking Dead" I'd forgotten they did that. He's a pretty good character and adds to the ensemble. The main girl still fights with the broken muzzle of a gun for some reason...I guess they still think that's cool? 

But there were a few pretty good episodes in this season. I'm not discouraged to turn it off, which is surprising. So I guess I can chug through another season, creeping closer to the final season. No promises I'll make it all the way through but if I make it through season 6, I'll double the number of seasons since they last time I quite. 

Not bad.  

Wednesday, February 25, 2026

Now You See Me Now You Don't (review)


 Another magic movie. Just like the others, it's fun. It's got a caper. Scenes that "explain" how they pulled the trick off. A new squad (just in case they need a spin off legacy series) and an ok villain. 

It was good, not great. If you enjoyed the movies that came before it, it's fine. Not sure who was asking for another sequel but Hollywood doesn't know when to say "No" I guess. 

Tuesday, February 24, 2026

Survivor 50 Predictions (5)


 Rizzo Velovic

Look it's Rizzo! Bye Rizzo! He's playing back to back seasons but he's going to find out he's not the genius player he thinks he is. Nice guy, but way out of league with everyone else there. 


Savannah Louie

The winner of the last season will be voted out before the merge if folks are smart. I know players don't get to watch the previous season but would they get to know who won it I wonder? She won't be looked at as a threat but she certainly is one. I don't know how her run will go this season. Could she win back to back? I don't see it happening but then again, I don't see why not. 


Stephanie LaGrossa

The lovable loser is back! Funny how they forget Bobby Jon was what made her interesting. She's nothing but nostalgia bait for the season. I admit however, I'll be interested to see if she's learned anything since her last stint on the show or will repeatedly make the same mistakes as she always does. 


Tiffany Ervin

Wow. Shocked to see her on this list. She's a moron. Maybe she was a "checklist" pick? I'm not sure. She'll blew up her own game eventually so I'm not worried about her getting anywhere close to the end. 

OK folks that's the entire cast! Can't wait to see what happens starting tomorrow night!!

Monday, February 23, 2026

Survivor 50 Predictions (4)


 Kyle Fraser

Memorable guy from his season. Best known for being Kamilah's partner in crime. As they worked together to take a lot of others out. One problem, I think Kamilah was better at it. Sure Kyle's a nice guy but I just don't see a path to victory for him this season. 


Mike White

Mike came back because his boss from CBS told him to. He's here just to have fun. not win. He'll be booted out before the merge. He writes for CBS and makes millions. He doesn't need this show. He'll show up, smile for the camera. Make an interesting story for the producers and go back to living in his million dollar apartment once it's all said and done. 


Ozzy Lusth

Yeah, I'm happy to see him back too. But we can all agree he'll never win right? Again, a wise idea would be to form a male alliance but that sort of thing NEVER happens in Survivor so Ozzy is there to pull back in Survivor fans who left the show years ago, to cheer on their favorite guy who has no chance on winning. 


Q Burdette

Another fun player to watch but he'll be voted out early on. I know he'll be good for some comic relief along the way. They did a good job casting a bunch of entertaining losers this season, I'll say that. 

Rick Devens

The man America wants to win this thing. Yes he can. But ONLY if he can make it to the merge. I think everyone knows what a threat he was and would be stupid to let him get to the merge. But if Devens can fly low enough under the radar, he'll have a good chance to move through everyone else quick and win it all in the end. 


Friday, February 20, 2026

Survivor 50 Predictions (3)


 Genevieve Muchaluk

She played hard on her season but only showed how weak the pickings were when the producers were trying to find people over the past few seasons to include. NO memorable moments and NO lasting impact on the game. Just a number to fill the cast with. Zero chance of winning. 

Jenna Lewis

I wondered who they were getting from the first season to come out and play. Ole Jenna hasn't been seen since "All-Stars" She is WAY out of her depth to be playing anymore but of course I'm going to cheer for her. Again, she has zero chance of winning in this new era but it'll be fun to see her come back. 

Joe Hunter

I knew they were going to bring him back. He's an honest to goodness guy. I hope he finds a good group of people (like Colby) to team up and be faithful too, but I think instead he's going to be blind and protecting another girl and that will be his undoing. Nice guy, which is why he'll finish last. 


Jonathan Young

Fun guy to watch play. I wish he'd make a guy alliance with Colby and Joe. They could be a powerhouse, but I know it'll never happen. Again, fun to watch on his season and he'll make this season equally as fun but he has no chance of going to the end sadly. 



Kamilah Karthigesu

SUPER smart player!! I loved her on her season. She was so good at manipulation. But there's one problem....no one will be under-estimating her ever again. He super smart goose is cooked. But she's someone I wouldn't mind seeing win it all if it weren't for the fact, everyone knows her tricks. 

Have a good weekend folks!

Thursday, February 19, 2026

Survivor 50 Predictions (2)

 

Cirie Fields

Dubbed "the best player never to win" is so laughable because she has done NOTHING in each of her seasons to deserve that, except to be looked at as the "weakest threat" in the game, where people take her along until they have no further use for her and vote her out. One of the most overrated players in Survivor history. I can't wait to see how she rides along all the way to the council before she's once again booted. What a joke!


Coach Wade

The Dragon Slayer returns!!! Jeff said he's a player who will "never win" and he's right. But I love watching him on Survivor all the same. Entertaining as all get out, I hope he goes long because it will make for a fun season to be sure. And yes, there is zero chance he wins or makes it to the final 3. 


Colby Donaldson

Another man who has ZERO chance of winning. He's too old school and refuses to change...and I love it. I'll be rooting for him but his time has gone and passed. I hope he does find a solid alliance though I know he won't make it to the council much less merge. He's a great guy but in this day and age, the good guy NEVER wins. 


Dee Valladares

One of the few winners they brought back for this season. She has no chance of winning this one though. She played well on her rookie season with rookies but in this season, she's cooked. 


Emily Flippen

I remember her, which is good. But I also remember not being impressed. She blew up her game one day one and was on damage repair for the rest of the game where she was lucky enough to make it to the council. Another player from the last 10 seasons, she's going to get a cruel wake up call to how the game is really played this time around. 

Wednesday, February 18, 2026

Survivor 50 Predictions (1)

 Time to break down all the players in this upcoming season!


Angela Keeley

Yes. I remember her. No, she didn't make an impact. But I have no idea why she was picked. She made it to the final but was distant 3rd. Nobody liked her. I don't either. 


Aubry Bracco

Nice pick. Smart and people have forgotten what I threat she was in past seasons so maybe she'll slip under the radar and make it far. She still has to improve her people skills if she wants to win. But I could see her making it to the end. 

Charlie Davis

Superfan from the Survivor 46. Fine choice. One of the few memorable people in the last 10 seasons. But I'm afraid he'll be too start struck to make it all the way in this group. 


Chrissy Hofbeck

Backstabber who tried hard to go after Ben (the winner of her season) and lost. In fact, every plan she had blew up in her face. While all she did was win immunity challenges to stay alive in the game. No small feat sure. But she has no strategy but to win immunity challenges. And in a game like Survivor, where she's going up against the best of the best, she has no chance. 

Christian Hubicki

Fun to watch. Easy to cheer for but again, I'm not sure if he has what it takes to win it all. I am happy to see him return though. Good choice. 

I'll be back with 5 more tomorrow!


Tuesday, February 17, 2026

The Code of Rules (Part 3)


 Time for more ridiculous rules I had back in the day. 

11) They had to accept me for the nerd I was. I wouldn't hide it. If a girl didn't like Star Wars or anything I liked, too bad. I wasn't going to give up my hobbies just to appease them. In return, I wasn't going to change the things they enjoyed doing either, I just wasn't going to be told "I hate that you like Star Wars so much, can't you stop?" Nope. Done. 

12) Never play nice on the first date. Tell them who you are, what to expect and answer anything they ask you as honestly as you can. I hated that you never got to really KNOW someone until a few dates in. So I was an open book on day one. I admitted my faults. Had no shame in telling the truth, even when it didn't make me look good. It might have cost me a relationship or too but I didn't care. 

I remember there was this one girl who I went out with that was telling me a story of how she knew her boyfriend was about to break up with her (long distance relationship) so instead of having him do it by phone she drove all the way out to San Antonio to see if he'd do it to her face. 

He did. 

Then she starting talking about how horrible a person he was for making her drive all the way back home upset and crying over him breaking up with her. My response "Well didn't you do that to yourself because you knew he was breaking up with you?"

That was the last time she ever spoke to me. 

13) Respect the age gap. I'd never date someone more than 5 years younger than me (when I started getting older. I didn't mind it if others did. I just wasn't. Passed up on a few good girls because of this, but I stood firm on it....until I found out Megan is 6 1/2 years younger than me and I made an exception. :) 

14) It's not worth the time and effort to "change" someone. I didn't bother trying. This was probably a bad thing for me but I just knew it wasn't worth it. I remember telling this rule to a girl who was interested. I think my bluntness shocked her (because she knew she had issues) and I never spoke to her again. Given a second chance, I think I wouldn't been a little more courteous in my response. 

Ok folks, I think that's all of them. There could've been more but most of these were ridiculous. I see that now. When someone has a high opinion of themselves, they never see that it's themselves they probably need to work on first or nobody's going to want to be with them.  

Thankfully it all worked out in the end and I have 4 fun kids and a wife who never stop making messes around the house to clean. I'm blessed for sure. Glad I don't need such silly rules anymore. In fact, if something were to happen that would make me a widow, I probably wouldn't re-marry. The dating scene and me never saw eye to eye. But hopefully that's something I'll never have to worry about. 

Have a good one folks!

Monday, February 16, 2026

The Code of Rules (Part 2)


Welcome back to more rules I had for dating when I was younger. 

 6) If a girl plays hard to get....walk away. Back in the day I decided I wasn't going to play that game. I walked away several times when if I'd have played along, I might have been married to somebody else. I remember once I tried to break an Ice Queen into dating me. But the moment she played "hard to get" I left her cold turkey. I later heard from her sister that she was crushed when I stopped talking to her and my response wasn't the best. "Well maybe you should tell your sister to stop acting like an ass and I would've stayed" 

Ah....good time. 

7) Never go after your buddy's girlfriend. Believe it or not...I almost broke this one. My buddy cheated on this girl, got caught, begged for a second chance and before she did it, she called to ask me what she should do. One problem, I was in love with her. It was hard but I told her it was really up to her but if she broke up with him, I'd be there for her. (my way of telling her a loved her) She eventually forgave him and they later got engaged. I was set to be a groomsmen. Then a few weeks before the wedding she cornered me and asked for the truth. Did I love her and was I telling her a year ago to break up with him and date me. Because if I was....she was prepared to call off the wedding and do just that. 

Geez, talk about being put on the spot. So I had to sit there in the parked car and explain the rule and how I couldn't break it. She's now happily married with kids and we're ALL still friends today. In fact, I'm pretty sure he knows about our conversation too because he told me "I know you could've broken us up, but I'm glad you didn't" 

8) Never go back. If the girl dumped you but wants you back, always say "No". The Matt train has left the station baby! Not surprisingly, I never had to enforce this rule. But it was still there. 

9) She must share the same religion. I was hard on this one. More than one relationship never happened because of it. But I never bent the rule once. This one was important to me. 

10) If the parents give you a hard time, walk away. I felt I didn't need to prove anything. So if ever some parent tried to give me hell, I walked instantly. I remember it shocked a few parents and I received a few apologies for it years later too. I remember I was chasing after one girl, that I promise would've worked out if only her mom hadn't had told me "You're my worst nightmare for my daughter"

I dropped everything and walked away that instant. The mom later apologized when she realized she'd been too hard. I accepted the apology but never came calling on her daughter again. I'm still friends with the girl and years later after her mom passed away she asked if that was the reason I left. I told her it was and she said "That's what mom figured. She apologized to me so much after that. It really changed the way she treated people." 

To be fair, I feel for the girl now. Not married today, no parents and on her own. I wish her the best but...the rules are rules!!


Friday, February 13, 2026

The Code of Rules (part one)


 I had some stupid rules I followed back in the day when it came to dating. Here they are in no particular order. I'm breaking this up into 2 parts because I just realized....I had a lot of rules!

1) No long distance relationships. Back in the day the internet only had email and chatrooms. I felt that wasn't enough to sustain a relationship long distance. That one person or the other would eventually get bored and move on. That's why I'd never hook up with anyone that lived far away. I didn't see the point and I was for sure it would never work out in the first place. 

2) Bros before.... If your friend's girlfriend breaks up with him and you like her too. Don't chase after her. Stand by your man and support him. Blacklist the girl from talking to you too. I felt very strong about this. I remember a buddy of mine was dating a smoking hot chick names Sabrina. But when she dumped him he was so heartbroken. A few weeks later she tried reaching out to me and asking me if I wanted to do anything. I quickly replied that I had no interest in someone who hurt my friend the way she did. Never heard from her again. 

3) NO hunting for a girlfriend from Nov1st-Feb15th. That's the time some girls get desperate and date a guy just to have someone over the holidays. So they can get Christmas presents, have someone to kiss on New Year's Eve and have a date for V Day. They break up with you soon after. As Admiral Ackbar said in Star Wars "It's a trap!"

4) If a girl is too pretty, she's not worth chasing after. Some girls have guys following them everywhere. Usually those girls are haughty and stuck up because they know they can have any guy they want. Don't give them your attention, they have enough as it is. This one actually had the reverse effect because it turned out the girl who gets all the boys usually chases after the one guy who doesn't show interest. I get it  now, but back in the day that threw me for a loop! 

5) 3 months in the "penalty box" after a break up. No dating anyone, because you don't want a "rebound girlfriend" someone you get in a relationship too quick because you're still upset about your last girlfriend, only to realize you made a mistake and need to get out of that one too. This cost me dearly when I unknowingly took a girl with me to bible study when I was on my way to break up with my first girlfriend. I told her the story (just in case an argument spilled out in public) And on the way back we laughed about the whole situation....then she asked if she could hang with me at my apartment and watch wrestling with me. 

I was clueless and I thought she just wanted to watch Goldberg but it became evident she had a different body slam in mind when we started watching Monday Night Nitro. I then had to explain to her my rule of "no rebounds".....never spoke to her again. 


Thursday, February 12, 2026

All my ex's (3)

 The final girlfriend I had before I met my wife was Erin Matherne. Though we only dated for 2 weeks, I think she still counts. 

It didn't start off as love at first site either. I'd known her for a while before we ever started dating. My brother was dating her sister for a while and I was good friends with the family, so I'd hang out with them to watch Survivor all the time. 

She was engaged to another guy who everyone hated. Even the family didn't like him that much. So my brother and I went on a mission to break them up. Again, I had no interest in Erin at the time other then being her friend. But when we'd go visit her at work and tell her how she could do so much better than who she had. 

After a while it worked. She called off the engagement...and then started dating me. I guess talking to her more made me realize just how special she was. But it wasn't to last long. On our 2nd week I remember her Dad asking to talk to me in his study. I wasn't worried because as I said I was friends with the family long before we were dating. 

But what he told me shocked me. He said that he liked me and that he was happy I convinced her to call off the engagement to her former boyfriend but he also felt like I wasn't the guy for her either. He wasn't saying it out of spite, he had made some observations about his daughter that I quickly came to realize he was right about. When I spoke to Erin about some of these things we both decided to end the relationship and move on. 

3 months later, I started dating Megan. 

Where is she now? I'd heard she was a little sad to hear I was getting married. But later on Erin found a great husband and has several wonderful kids. I've only seen her once since we stopped seeing each other and we had a good conversation. I'm glad she's happy. 

And that's it folks! No more ex's to speak of. I'm just that boring I guess. 

Come back tomorrow to hear what my "code of rules" was for dating. I'm sure it'll give everyone a good laugh. 

Wednesday, February 11, 2026

All my ex's (2)

 Girlfriend #2 came along 2 years later in my life. Her name was Honi Jordan. 

Yeah...my brother thought that was a stripper name too. 

I'd known her for years. We went to the same summer camp. She always had a crush on me but back in the day one of the rules in the code was "no long distance relationships" Remember, the internet was still young back then so things were different back in the day. 

Anyway, after one summer week she stayed in Mobile Al, where my grandparents were. I went down and we spent the week hanging out. It was there she finally beat me down to agree to a long distance relationship. And for the next 3 months we did just that. Calling over the phone and emailing each other. 

Finally in September I was planning to fly up there and visit her and the family....and the week of my flight, was when I got a call from her sister and Mom. 

Supposedly, Honi had been cheating on me the whole time. (should've listened to the rule) And she planned to break up with me, my last day there. Her mom and sister were outraged with her and told her she needed to tell me about her other boyfriend now but she refused to do so, so they called instead and told me not to come. 

I remember them both crying over the phone apologizing for Honi's actions, so I called the "relationship" off, flew in the next week and had a buddy of mine drive 4 hours to pick me up so I could stay the week with him instead. Worked out well. We still talk about that week together all the time. 

Where is she now? I have no idea. Never spoke to her or her family ever again after that night. 

Tuesday, February 10, 2026

All my ex's (1)

 Welcome to the shortest series on the blog! 

For the week of Valentine's Day, I've decided to  share stories of the 3 woman I dated (yep...only 3) before I met my wife. 

Why only 3?

A) I was a loser

B) I had a standard and a code I followed to the letter (like Dexter) 

C) I was too picky. (the downfall of all single men)

So who's up first? My first girlfriend came along during my senior year of college....yep...that long. Ashley Harper went to Tech at the time and she was all that and a bag of chips. 

We were together 3 months and even my roommates had bets that it wouldn't last that long. (no joke) 

My favorite story with her was the night we were supposed to go out on a date but when I saw what she was wearing, I decided we should stay inside. She had a low cut blouse, and jeans ripped everywhere to show you she wasn't wearing anything underneath. 

On the same night my roommate was taking his girlfriend out as well. When they got to the door to leave his girlfriend turned around and in a voice dripping with sarcasm said "Bye Ashley, Bye Matt. Oh and Ashley....love your jeans."

Ashley had no idea she hated them. She thanked her and stood up to give her a 360. The other girl, disgusted, rolled her eyes and walked out. My roommate and I still talk about that story today!

Reason for the breakup? Cheated on me....with 3 guys....at the same time. 

Where is she now? (WARNING; this gets dark) Her husband and kids left her and she died alone in a fire when her house burned down and she couldn't get out. 

Ouch. I didn't like her when we broke up, but I'd never want that to happen to anyone. Too sad. 

Monday, February 09, 2026

The beginning of the end


 I cracked the corner of my laptop a few months ago and now it's beginning to fall apart at the hinge. Repairing it will cost half the price I paid for the laptop and I'm not prepared to do that. Just like in the photo, mine is tapes at the sides at the moment and taped up, but I know it won't hold up for much longer due to the use of having to constantly open and close it. 

So I guess later down the road I'll be looking for another laptop. Sadly, I've barely had this one for over a year. A pity. I love this one too. 

Asus laptops are the best (in my opinion) but it's getting hard to find one at a good deal because they NEVER go on sale. 

But oh well. Whine, whine. Sob, sob. 

Friday, February 06, 2026

Silk boxers


 Is there anything more comfortable in the world than these? I don't think so. 

It's been ages since I've gotten any. I ask for them every Christmas but no one ever orders them. I'm tempted to go an Amazon now and order them but I'll keep asking for my birthday and maybe receive a few pair. 

They feel GREAT. Highly recommend them to anyone interested. I enjoy silk sheets too but my wife and I learned they aren't great for the summer time. (too hot) But as boxers they're perfect for any time of the year. 

Ok folks, that's it for now. Have a good weekend!