Wednesday, March 25, 2026

Car History (3)


 I bought another Nissan Sentra. 

This one lasted me for years. I LOVED this car. Many good memories together. And tons of money spent in repairs (but mainly they were my fault)

I bought new tires every couple of months, the penalty for spinning donuts in parking lots and gravel roads. I felt like the Dukes of Hazzzard in this vehicle. Even found a spot of Red Cut Loop Rd that would send your car flying up in the air for a second if you hit it just right...and I did every time. 

At the time I was working for appraisers as a runner and one of the last ones I worked for lived on that road so I was going up and down it all the time. 

Oh man....good memories with this car. 

I bought brand new shocks, an alternator and just about every cable and belt you could name to replace it. When it finally came to replacing the engine I was all for it and the mechanic pulled me aside and said "Son, for the amount you're going to have to pay, you may as well just get a new car"

He was right. My heart dropped because I knew it was time to finally say goodbye. So I left it with him for a few hundred bucks and moved on. 

The worst thing is, a few weeks later I realized I'd left my BB gun in the care....lost forever! Major bummer. 

Tuesday, March 24, 2026

Car History (2)


 After my Dodge Spirit failed me, the father of a friend of mine hooked me up with someone who was selling their Nissan Sentra. It had 188K miles on it, so I got it for cheap. 

I loved this car. It had ZERO problems and was red. (my favorite color at the time) But someone hit me and totaled the car. I was crushed. 

Thankfully when speaking to their insurance company about a settlement check a lawyer told me to say these magic words "I need to consult with my lawyer first"

Instantly, that amount rose a couple thousand dollars more and I took the deal. I actually made money off the wreck. Getting way more in return than what I'd paid for it. It paved the way to get me my second vehicle. 

I was still in college at the time and I remember thinking "How many cars is it going to take before I graduate?"

The answer would be one more...

Monday, March 23, 2026

Car History (1)


 It's been a long road to get me to my Minivan Man path of destiny. So this week I thought I'd talk about the 5 other cars I've owned in my lifetime before the minivan. 

My very first car was a Dodge Spirit, sort of like this one. I remember it looker a lot cooler back in the day but oh well. 

It had a skylight and I thought that was cool so I bought it. 

It was a piece of junk. Once the repairs overtook the actually cost of what I'd paid for the vehicle I let it go. Didn't even last me throughout college! I remember naming it "Rogue Leader" a Star Wars reference. All my friends in college were naming their cars, so I decided to join in the fun. 

It was a piece of junk and I didn't miss getting rid of it. 

Friday, March 20, 2026

Leg Extension Machine


 By far, the most popular machine at my gym. 

I used to use this all the time but not anymore. Someone is on it from the time they open to the time they close guaranteed.

They used to have two but one broke months ago and they never fixed it so now there's just one and people will sit on it for 25 minutes before getting up and unless you're standing right next to it, you have no chance at getting a turn. 

I don't know what makes it so popular but every other machine is open at sometime BUT this one. Incredible. 

Have a good weekend folks! 

Thursday, March 19, 2026

Jolt (review)


 Finally got a chance to try this! After seeing it on Amazon I've always wanted to try them out but they're a little expensive. A month ago they dropped the price and I bought a 12 pack. 

I never knew what the original ones tasted like, but this is an average soda, though now it's been turned into an energy drink. You can't tell. It still taste like a soda. 

I'm glad I got to taste it though I won't be getting them again. Not special enough. Just average. 

Wednesday, March 18, 2026

Fear the Walking Dead Season 7 review


 Wow. 

Ok, a lot to unpack here.

First off, Alicia (the girl in the picture) finally stopped using the broken off nozzle of a machine gun as a weapon. After 4 season of trying to convince the audience how "cool" it was to carry one around. By far, the dumbest weapon ever used in the Walking Dead universe. But at least its gone. 

So are the cars. Of course... the nuked the entire area, so maybe that's why they stopped. AND for the first time ever people died when surround, falling into, or being piled upon, zombies. Incredible the writers finally figured out that people constantly escaping those situations make no sense in the long run.   

Electricity? Only one episode featured it and it was the dumbest ever. This guy has been living in his home (perfectly clean and untouched by zombies OR a nuclear BOMB and has lights on and everything. 

So I guess the zombies have never bothered him before? Or and the raiders who go around looting building also leave him alone. Even when they come to his door they politely knock and ask if he's seen Alicia....yet the RAID other buildings. Wouldn't they want a house that still has running water and electricity???? Why this house even exist at this point should've been a dream instead of a real thing. 

Completely stupid. 

Strand finally goes full villain in this season. Killing humans, running the building he's in as a tyrant. He's the other "big bad" in the season. Which I was fine with at first. He started off as a selfish character, only looking out for himself, finally turns full evil. Good idea.

Until they give him a "redemption" arc while at the last minute he switches sides and the whole gang forgives him instantly....even though they know how many humans he's killed. RIDICULOUS.

Meanwhile, Alicia saws off her arm right after a bite but later tells everyone she was too late and was infected....yet never dies. I think they're telling us she beat off the infection, when in reality she cut off her arm just in time to survive. Also, 3 seasons ago there was an episode showing where she was exposed to dangerous radiation that is supposed to kill her.....but I guess she's cured from that too? They never mention it anymore. Guess the writers forgot? Maybe they'll talk about it in the last season...or maybe they don't care about that old story line either.  

And in the last episode....Madison comes back. Turns out, she didn't die after all. (zero surprise)  but why hasn't she been looking for her kids? We're never given a reason, just that she thought they were dead....though she sacrificed herself to save them in season 4. 

Yeah....a mom would totally give up hope after that. 

In reality, they decided to bring her back in the final season I guess and since they couldn't think of a good reason why she didn't go searching for her kids they just skipped over that plot hole because, at this point, no one was watching the show anyway so who cares. 

Total crap. 

No wonder this show shed another 500,000 viewers in one season. What a mess!

If this show went 10 seasons, THIS is where I would've quit it again. However, there's only one more miserable season left, so I'm currently watching it and will hopefully have it done later this week and be through with this garbage once and for all. 

At least I can say I finished it. 

Tuesday, March 17, 2026

Happy St Patty's Day


 You know...maybe one day when the kids get older we'll start throwing parties at our house to make this holiday more fun. 

These days I don't do anything special on it. It's really just a "meh" holiday. Nothing fun to do. 

But have fun wearing green folks! That's about all this day is really known for now.